Schools and Colleges

SEND Assessment

SEND Assessment:


“A detailed assessment of need should ensure that the full range of an individual’s needs are identified, not simply the primary need.”
(SEND Code of Practice, 2015, 6.27)

We offer two types of assessment:

Diagnostic Assessment

The diagnostic assessment is a detailed 360-degree analysis of the pupil’s strengths and weaknesses and usually takes 2-21/2 hours. Fully nationally standardised and norm-referenced tests are used and the specialist assessor is qualified to Level 7 in specialist assessment.

All assessments meet the requirements set out by PATOSS and the DfE.

Following assessment, the detailed report provides a holistic profile of strengths and areas to develop in addition to recommendations for support and additional intervention.

These assessments are also suitable for exam access arrangements applications and applications for an EHCP.

Short Update Assessments

These assessments are particularly suitable as update assessments for application for exam access arrangements in examinations, but can be used as evidence of ongoing need or to demonstrate progress over time.

Up to 5 short assessments can be conducted in one whole day, each assessment takes between 1 - 1.5 hours each. They all comply with current JCQ Regulations and are suitable for application for exam access arrangements for:

What is assessed?

Diagnostic Assessments include assessment of:

  • - Visual memory and processing
  • - Auditory memory and processing
  • - Verbal and non-verbal ability
  • - Reading ability: comprehension, speed, fluency, accuracy, efficiency
  • - Rate of processing information
  • - Phonological awareness and processing
  • - Memory, including auditory sequential memory and verbal working memory
  • - Handwriting legibility and speed
  • - Spelling
  • - Mathematical performance (when requested to do so)
  • - Motor coordination (where required)
  • - Receptive and expressive language (where required)
  • - Visual stress (where required)

Short assessments include assessment of:

  • - Reading ability: speed, accuracy, efficiency, fluency and comprehension
  • - Spelling (where needed)
  • - Writing speed (where needed)
  • - visual and verbal Processing speed
  • - Auditory sequential memory
  • - visual memory
  • - Verbal working memory

Exam Access Arrangements

All assessments are suitable for application for exam access arrangements, such as GCSE, A Level, BTec Diploma and Functional Skills.

In order to comply with JCQ Regulations, the school or college must complete the required Form 8 Part 1 before the assessment and the specialist assessor completes Part 2 after the assessment has taken place.

Where a diagnostic assessment has taken place, the report can be used as supporting evidence in addition to the Form 8.

Where short assessments have taken place, a short Pupil Profile is produced which can be used as supporting evidence for the application for exam access arrangements.